Kwik Trip CEO and President Retires After 52 Years

Don Zietlow’s 52 years of leadership brought substantial growth to Wisconsin-based Kwik Trip.

November 28, 2022

LA CROSSE, Wisc.—Kwik Trip announced its CEO and president Donald P.  Zietlow is retiring, effective December 31, 2022. Zietlow has worked at Kwik Trip for 52 years and served as CEO and president for 22 years.

“Although Don attributes the success of Kwik Trip to the coworkers, his leadership has brought substantial growth and innovation,” said Kwik Trip in a statement.

The company operates more than 800 locations in Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa, Illinois and Michigan and is considered a leader in the convenience store industry.

Zietlow was the driving force behind sharing 40% of the pre-tax profits with all the coworkers and Kwik Trip’s successful food programs. Under his leadership the company grew its vertically integrated support center in La Crosse, Wisconsin, including major capital investments in the dairy, kitchens, bakeries and distribution center.

On January 1, 2023, Kwik Trip’s chair of the board and second-generation owner Scott Zietlow will become Kwik Trip’s next president and CEO. Scott will be retiring from his role as a professor of surgery in the trauma, critical care and general surgery division of Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, to assume his new responsibilities at Kwik Trip.

“I am honored to follow my dad’s legacy of guiding Kwik Trip. We are a very strong company and with our 36,000 phenomenal coworkers, great retail locations and industry-leading vertical integration, our future is bright,” said Scott.

As part of the new leadership team, Tom Reinhart has been appointed chief operating officer, and Jeff Wrobel will continue his role as chief financial officer.

Kwik Trip showcases its 800th store in this 2022 NACS Ideas 2 Go segment. The next gen store, located in Holmes, Wisconsin, features an updated color scheme, new flooring and ample space for customers to shop the store.

FMN Magazine awarded Kwik Trip the first-ever FMN Fuels Innovator of the Year Awards at the 2022 NACS Show.