FMCSA Declares Regional Emergency in 8 States

The declaration is in response to the Suncor refinery shutdown in Colorado, as well as severe winter weather.

January 20, 2023

WASHINGTON—The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) has issued an emergency declaration for the states of Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, Utah and Wyoming.

The declaration in response to the unanticipated shutdown of the Suncor refinery in Colorado, severe winter storms and high demand resulting in difficulty in obtaining necessary gasoline, diesel and jet fuel in the affected states.

“This declaration addresses the emergency conditions creating a need for immediate transportation of gasoline, diesel and jet fuel and provides necessary relief,” noted a FMCSA statement.

Through the declaration, part 395.3 (maximum driving time) of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations is waived for carriers providing direct emergency relief efforts transporting gasoline, diesel or jet fuel into the affected states.

“Direct assistance means transportation and other relief services provided by a motor carrier or its driver(s) incident to the immediate restoration of essential supplies or essential services,” said FMCSA.

The declaration will remain in effect until the end of the emergency or until 11:59 p.m. EST on February 15, 2023, whichever is earlier.