Industry Pioneers Inducted to Conexxus Hall of Fame

Sharon Scace of WEX and David Ezell of Verifone were inducted to the Conexxus Hall of Fame this week at the group’s annual conference in Annapolis.

April 26, 2017

ALEXANDRIA, Va. – Conexxus is pleased to announced that two convenience and fuel retailing industry pioneers are being inducted into the Conexxus Hall of Fame this week at the Conexxus Annual Meeting: Sharon Scace of WEX Inc. and David Ezell of Verifone Inc. 

“Sharon and David exemplify the dedication and expertise exhibited within the Conexxus membership,” said Gray Taylor, executive director of Conexxus. “Both have been highly engaged since the early days of the NACS Technology Initiative, which over the course of two decades helped advance and establish Conexxus as we know it today. Conexxus could not achieve its goals without Sharon and David’s steadfast leadership and support.”

Sharon Scace is the ISpec technical solutions manager at WEX Inc. She has been in the petroleum industry for 27 years, beginning her career at Amoco supporting the Amoco Pipeline Company and later moved to retail POS support where she wrote her first specification for the consumer experience at pay at the pump interfaces.  Actively involved in payment and retail fueling industry and international standards organizations for over 13 years, she has participated in the International Standards Organization (ISO) and International Forecourt Standards Forum (IFSF) activities. She currently chairs the Conexxus Retail Financial Transaction Committee, having previously served as chair of the EPS Working Group, the Retailer Business Requirements Committee and the Point-to-Point Encryption Working Group. 

David Ezell is the principal software architect at Verifone Inc. A music major in college, he discovered computer programming in the early 1980s and went on to work at Bennett Pump Company and subsequently the company’s customer, SuperAmerica. He joined Verifone in 1998 and worked as a software design architect on petroleum products. Within one month of starting at Verifone, he attended a NACS Technology Initiative meeting and has been involved with industry standards since. He also advocates on behalf of the industry at the World Wide Web Consortium, where he is chairman of the XML Schema Working Group and the Web Payments Interest Group, and more recently at the X9/International Organization for Standardization on card technology.

Established in 2011, the Conexxus Hall of Fame honor is given to industry leaders who have been critical to the improvement of retail systems through interoperability, profitability and technology vision. Previous inductees include the late Teri Richman (NACS), the late John Hervey (PCATS), Greg Gilkerson (PDI), Bob Johnson (Pinnacle), Brad McGuinness (Verifone), Scott Hartman (Rutter's), Gene Gerke (Gerke & Associates), Henry Armour (NACS), Jenny Bullard (CST Brands), Loring Perez (Chattahoochee Oil Company), Ann Dozier (Southern Wine & Spirits of America) and Ann Zeki (Chevron).

The 2017 Conexxus Annual Conference, attended by the industry’s leading technology experts and management, is taking place at the Loews Annapolis Hotel in Maryland, April 23-27.  The conference agenda includes face-to-face meetings of all Conexxus Committees and Work Groups to further data exchange standards in device integration, payments, enterprise integration, mobile commerce, supply chain and data security. The conference will also include education sessions and keynote presentations by Jeffrey Ma, business entrepreneur and MIT blackjack team member, and Washington Post Columnist Gene Marks.

For more information about the Conexxus Annual Conference, go to