Support for NACS Menu-Labeling Efforts Grows

Members of Congress continue lending support to NACS-supported menu-labeling legislation.

March 17, 2014

ALEXANDRIA, VA – During the NACS Government Relations Conference and Day on Capitol Hill in February, retailers and industry stakeholders asked legislators to support legislation that would ensure pending federal menu-labeling regulations are reasonable and appropriate for all businesses.

The Common Sense Nutrition Disclosure Act (H.R. 1249 and S. 1756), introduced in the House by Representatives Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA) and Loretta Sanchez (D-CA) and in the Senate by Senators Roy Blunt (R-MO) and Angus King (I-ME), would define a regulated facility as one in which more than 50% of its revenues were derived from restaurant type food.

NACS members’ efforts that day were successful. Since the February event, an additional 13 representatives and three senators have added their names as official co-sponsors of the legislation. Below is a list of all legislators who are with NACS on this issue.

House Co-sponsors of H.R. 1249

Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers

Rep. Loretta Sanchez (CA-46)

Rep. Andy Barr (KY-6)

Rep. John Barrow (GA-12)

Rep. Joe Barton (TX-6)

Rep. Dan Benishek (MI-1)

Rep. Rob Bishop (UT-1)

Rep. Susan Brooks (IN-5)

Rep. Larry Bucshon (IN-8)

Rep. Ken Calvert (CA-42)

Rep. John Carter (TX-31)

Rep. Steve Chabot (OH-1)

Rep. Howard Coble (NC-6)

Rep. Mike Coffman (CO-6)

Rep. Chris Collins (NY-27)

Rep. Henry Cuellar (TX-28)

Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (FL-25)

Rep. Renee Ellmers (NC-2)

Rep. Michael Fitzpatrick (PA-8)

Rep. Pete Gallego (TX-23)

Rep. Bob Gibbs (OH-7)

Rep. Sam Graves (MO-6)

Rep. Tom Graves (GA-14)

Rep. Tim Griffin (AR-2)

Rep. Morgan Griffith (VA-9)

Rep. Brett Guthrie (KY-2)

Rep. Richard Hanna (NY-22)

Rep. Andy Harris (MD-1)

Rep. Doc Hastings (WA-4)

Rep. Ruben Hinojosa (TX-15)

Rep. Tim Huelskamp (KS-1)

Rep. Bill Huizenga (MI-2)

Rep. Darrell Issa (CA-49)

Rep. Walter Jones Jr. (NC-3)

Rep. David Joyce (OH-14)

Rep. Mike Kelly (PA-3)

Rep. Jack Kingston (GA-1)

Rep. Doug LaMalfa (CA-1)

Rep. Tom Latham (IA-3)

Rep. Robert Latta (OH-5)

Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO-3)

Rep. Cynthia Lummis (WY)

Rep. Howard P. “Buck” McKeon

Rep. Michael Michaud (ME-2)

Rep. Jeff Miller (FL-1)

Rep. Mick Mulvaney (SC-5)

Rep. Tom Petri (WI-5)

Rep. Ted Poe (TX-2)

Rep. Tom Price (GA-6)

Rep. Trey Radel (FL-19)

Rep. Charles Rangel (NY-13)

Rep. Reid Ribble (WI-8)

Rep. Harold Rogers (KY-5)

Rep. Mike Rogers (MI-8)

Rep. Todd Rokita (IN-4)

Rep. Bobby Rush (IL-1)

Rep. Steve Scalise (LA-1)

Rep. Aaron Schock (IL-18)

Rep. John Shimkus (IL-15)

Rep. Bill Shuster (PA-9)

Rep. Adam Smith (WA-9)

Rep. Lamar Smith (TX-21)

Rep. Ann Wagner (MO-2)

Rep. Tim Walberg (MI-7)

Rep. Jackie Walorski (IN-2)

Rep. Brad Wenstrup (OH-2)

Rep. Lynn Westmoreland (GA-3)

Rep. Ed Whitfield (KY-1)

Rep. Steve Womack (AR-3)

Rep. Kevin Yoder (KS-3)

Rep. Todd Young (IN-9)



Senate Co-sponsors of S. 1756
Sen. Roy Blunt (MO
Sen. Angus King Jr. (ME)
Sen. Susan Collins (ME)
Sen. Jerry Moran (KS)
Sen. Michael Enzi (WY)
Sen. James Risch (ID)
Sen. Lindsey Graham (SC)
Sen. John Boozman (AR)

This list is current as of March 14 — please check and search by both H.R. 1249 and S. 1756 to see if your members of Congress support the bills. If your legislator is not a current co-sponsor, visit to send a letter asking for his or her support.