States Issue Emergency Declarations in Light of Hurricane

Stay tuned for waiver announcements from Louisiana, Mississippi, Texas and Florida.

August 28, 2020

ALEXANDRIA, Va.—In advance of Hurricane Laura, which made landfall in Louisiana as a Category 4 hurricane early Thursday morning, the states of Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas have issued emergency declarations.

These declarations will allow the states the flexibility to issue important waivers to help speed response and recovery efforts.

Here’s the list of states to access their emergency declarations:

Hurricane Laura pummeled Louisiana yesterday before weakening to a Category 1 storm. Refineries and chemical facilities along the Texas-Louisiana coast narrowly avoided a direct hit from Hurricane Laura, while most shut down in advance of the storm.