Ga., N.C., Fla. Issue New Waivers and Updates

New waivers for SNAP and hot food sales continue in the aftermath of Hurricane Michael.

October 23, 2018

ATLANTA – Because of power outages and displacement from homes caused by Hurricane Michael in Florida, Georgia and North Carolina, the U.S. Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) has approved several waivers.

Georgia issued remaining October benefits early, on October 14. Households with issuance dates from the 15th through the 23rd already should have received their SNAP benefits. The newest update includes a waiver for the Georgia counties of Baker, Crisp, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Lee, Miller, Mitchell, Seminole, Terrell, Thomas, and Worth, Ben Hill, Brooks, Calhoun, Clay, Cook, Randolph, Sumter, Tift, Turner and Webster.  

For North Carolina, FNS has allowed households to request replacement SNAP benefits for an extended period or through October 31, 2018. This replacement of SNAP benefits is not automatic, but instead will allow households extended time to request replacement of food lost as a result of Hurricane Michael through the county offices. 

As reported previously in NACS Daily, the waiver for Florida allows affected SNAP households to receive an additional benefit in the amount of 40% of their October SNAP benefit. This will allow households to replace perishable food lost as a result of the hurricane.

A waiver allowing the sale of hot foods throughout Florida through October 31 was approved on Monday. The Florida counties included in the SNAP waivers are Alachua, Baker, Bay, Bradford, Calhoun, Citrus, Columbia, Dixie, Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Gilchrist, Gulf, Hamilton, Hernando, Hillsborough, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Lafayette, Leon, Levy, Liberty, Madison, Manatee, Okaloosa, Pasco, Pinellas, Santa Rosa, Suwannee, Taylor, Union, Wakulla, Walton and Washington.